F1 Stories - F1's most hottest race, the 1955 Argentine Grand Prix

in #f13 months ago (edited)

All fans want unpredictable races, however the 1955 Argentine Grand Prix was so unpredictable for a number of reasons. The race was held in January and it was their summer so the temperature was 52 degrees Celsius for the day and 126 degrees Fahrenheit at track level. The grid was lined up with 4 cars on the front row of the grid starting with Jose Foilan Gonzalez of Ferrari on Pole with Alberto Ascari's Lancia second, Juan Manuel Fangio's Mercedes third and Jean Behra's Maserati forth. Prior to the race, Fangio had the honour of raising the Argentine flag and there was more then 250,000 fans in attendance. At the start Fangio lead into turn one with Ascari second, Gonzalez third and Stirling Moss in the Mercedes starting eighth went to forth. On Lap two, Behra sends the dust flying and collects Harry Shells's Maserati, Shell rejoined but Behra joined Carlos Menditeguy's Maserati and Pablo Birger's Gording as retirements, On lap three, Ascari passes Fangio for the lead. Luigi Villoresi Lancia paced up with a fuel leak on lap two and tales over Eugenio Castellotti's Lancia on Lap 20 as Casrellotti is suffering from the extreme heat. On lap twenty two, the handing of Ascari's Lancia catches him out and crashes. Gonzales who was injured in the Tourist Trophy in late 1954 handed over his car to Nino Farina. Fangio takes the lead after Ascari crashes but Moss is suffering from the heat and his Mercedes is suffering from a fuel vapour lock and they were forced to retire after 29 laps. on lap 34, Fangio pits for new tyres, cool in the shade and a drink which lasted three minutes. Shell led till he pitted on lap 38 and handed over the lead to Roberto Mieres in his Maserati who started 16th on the grid but pitted on lap 42 for 10 minutes to have a faulty fuel pump repaired. Fangio lead to the end impervious to the heat where most driver changes had two or three drivers used for a car. Fangio won the 96 lap race in three hours with Mieres the only other driver to do the race unaided.


  1. Juan Manuel Fangio (Mercedes)
  2. José Froilán González / Nino Farina / Maurice Trintignant (Ferrari)
  3. Nino Farina / Maurice Trintignant / Umberto Maglioli (Ferrari)
  4. Hans Herrmann / Karl Kling / Stirling Moss (Mercedes)
  5. Roberto Mieres (Maserati)
  6. Harry Schell / Jean Behra (Maserati)
  7. Luigi Musso / Sergio Mantovani / Harry Schell (Maserati)

Sergio Mantovani / Jean Behra / Luigi Musso (Maserati) - Engine
Clemar Bucci / Harry Schell / Carlos Menditeguy (Maserati) - Fuel Pressure
Jesús Iglesias (Gordini) - Transmission
Maurice Trintignant (Ferrari) - Engine
Eugenio Castellotti / Luigi Villoresi (Lancia) - Accident
Stirling Moss (Mercedes) - Fuel System
Alberto Uria (Maserati) - Out of Fuel
Alberto Ascari (Lancia) - Accident
Élie Bayol (Gordini) - Transmission
Jean Behra (Maserati) - Accident
Karl Kling (Mercedes) - Accident
Luigi Villoresi (Lancia) - Fuel Leak
Pablo Birger (Gordini) - Accident
Carlos Menditeguy (Maserati) - Accident

Most driver changes in the history of F1 with the extreme heat led to a scoring nightmare of 16 driver substitutions. F1 driver changes were banned after the 1957 season
Hottest ever F1 race on record along with the 2005 Bahrain Grand Prix.
21 drivers started, seven finished.
Race was held in January, usually the European winter but the heat of the South American summer.