NASCAR 2022 schedule - Should there be more night races.

in #nascar3 months ago

There are some tracks that do have lights to hold the races but do not use it in the Cup series, here is my suggest proposal.

Fontana - Spring
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 8.45pm EST / 5.45pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having the final two hours of the race under the lights will cause havoc as there has been night racing at Fontana for NASCAR in the fall from 2004 to 2010 and the IndyCar Series had a night race there from 2012 to 2014 but the bulk of the races NASCAR held have been in the desert sun. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race at daylight and end under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend two hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a day to night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Las Vegas - Spring
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 8.40pm EST / 5.40pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having the final two hours of the race under the lights will cause havoc as there has been night racing at Las Vegas for NASCAR in the fall since 2019 and the IndyCar Series back then as the IRL had a night race there in 1997 but the bulk of the races from IndyCar and NASCAR held have been in the desert sun. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race at daylight and end under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend two hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a day to night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Phoenix - Spring
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 9.34pm EST / 6.34pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having the final hour of the race under the lights will cause havoc as there has not been a night race since 2015 - fall and had night races from 2005 to 2010 - spring but the bulk of the races NASCAR held have been in the desert sun. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race at daylight and end under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend an hour or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means less electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a day to night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Atlanta - Spring
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 7.53pm EST / 4.53pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having almost all the race of the race under the lights on Saturday Night will cause havoc and allow fans to do stuff on Sunday. There has been only three NASCAR night races, 1998 was the first but the race was started at daylight and was red flagged for several hours because of rain and was restarted at night but the race was shortened due to 11.00pm curfew, 2006 was tried with a day to night race on Sunday afternoon but was abandoned for 2007 because several drivers complained of sun in their eyes during the 2006 race and 2009 where it was started at sunset. IndyCar Series back then as the IRL had a night race there from 1999 to 2002 but the bulk of the races NASCAR held have been held at daylight. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend around three hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Kansas - Spring
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 8.20pm EST / 5.20pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having almost all the race of the race under the lights on Saturday Night will cause havoc and allow fans to do stuff on Sunday. From 2014 to 2020 it was a Saturday Night race. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend around two and a half hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Nashville
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 8.05pm EST / 5.05pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having almost all the race of the race under the lights on Saturday Night will cause havoc and allow fans to do stuff on Sunday. There has been IndyCar Series races at night from 2001 to 2008 but the bulk of the races NASCAR held have been held at daylight. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend around three hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a night race will cause unpredictable racing.

Texas - Fall
Green Flag: 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST
Sunset: 7.52pm EST / 4.52pm PST
Reasons: My reason for a 7.30pm EST / 4.30pm PST start is because of several reasons. Having a 3.30pm EST / 12.30pm PST start would not benefit fans as it would be day and the racing can be lacklustre at times. Having almost all the race of the race under the lights on Saturday Night will cause havoc and allow fans to do stuff on Sunday. NASCAR has held Saturday Night races from 2011 to 2013 and from 2015 to 2016 and the IndyCar Series held night races from 1997 to 2020 but the bulk of the races NASCAR held have been held at daylight. It will benefit fans in the east coast who would see a race under the lights. It would also benefit the track owners who would spend around three hours or so lighting the track for the end of the race which means electricity spent but possibly more fans attending. Having a night race will cause unpredictable racing.

If there are tracks you want to see under the lights, post the comments and i hope you enjoyed reading this.